Ok

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies. Ces derniers assurent le bon fonctionnement de nos services. En savoir plus.

I leave this at your ear...

graham_newcp.jpg

New collected poems de W.S. Graham (Faber)

"The beast that lives on silence takes
Its bite out of either side.
It pads and sniffs between us. Now
It comes and laps my meaning up.
Call it over. Call it across
This curious necessary space.
Get off, you terrible inhabiter
Of silence. I’ll not have it. Get
Away to whoever it is will have you."

Le point de vue de Harold Pinter

Le poète en lecture (1979)

Sur le site de Faber

I LEAVE THIS AT YOUR EAR
For Nessie Dunsmuir

I leave this at your ear for when you wake,
A creature in its abstract cage asleep.
Your dreams blindfold you by the light they make.

The owl called from the naked-woman tree
As I came down by the Kyle farm to hear
Your house silent by the speaking sea.

I have come late but I have come before
Later with slaked steps from stone to stone
To hope to find you listening for the door.

I stand in the ticking room. My dear, I take
A moth kiss from your breath. The shore gulls cry.
I leave this at your ear for when you wake.

Copyright © The Estate of W.S. Graham, 2000.

Lien permanent Catégories : Littérature étrangère, Poésie, Sur le Web 0 commentaire 0 commentaire

Les commentaires sont fermés.